Author Topic: TLF is not ready for an expansion.  (Read 4028 times)

Offline ElOhTeeBee

• Jr. Member Mark II
TLF is not ready for an expansion.
« on: September 19, 2014, 03:00:09 pm »
Soon after the release of TLF, I stopped playing it, because I got sick and tired of chasing around enemy ships that could outrun my shots. I figured I'd come back to it later, when it'd been refined further. Now, here I am, and it's later - the expansion is, if I recall correctly, set to go on sale next week. I started playing TLF again, both because I never really gave it a thorough typo-checking and to get used to how it works again.

My gameplay experience was not positive.

TLF's tutorials were awful on release. I'd been hoping they'd have been improved. Instead, they are now even worse, because they weren't even updated to account for patches changing the information. I'm sure we all recall how the tutorial telling you to do some dispatches to earn credits is now utterly invalid because most of the dispatches available from the start now cost credits, but were you aware that the game's advice to start by delivering spacefaring tech to the Andors, Skylaxians, or Peltians is actually terrible, because races that come in later get more free fleets to start with than the initial races will be able to build in that time, and the warlike races will absolutely run over the more peaceful ones if they start with that advantage?

This is, as a reminder, the first thing the game tells you to do once you're done on the solar map. And I learned that it was a bad idea from a Google search.