Author Topic: It's the planetary economy, and I might be stupid  (Read 919 times)

Offline Tormodino

• Newbie Mark II
It's the planetary economy, and I might be stupid
« on: April 13, 2014, 07:02:55 pm »
I wanted to post this here to get some discussion around one of the core aspects of the game that I personally think is very underdeveloped.

When I started playing I was pretty overwhelmed by all the information, but once I got into it and reread the tutorials I was really struck by the wording and focus that was presented.
What I write below is a lot of personal opinion, but I just feel I have to get it out there :) It is not a stab at what I think can develop into a seriously hardcore interesting game.

Please don't downplay the economic aspect in what is a really complex simulation!
At several point I was told to not pay too much attention to the RCI.
What is the RCI? There seems to be a lot of unnecessary wording that obfuscates the underlying system, for something which seems core to development of the solar system and the diplamtic options that concern it.

During the tutorial, the game basically tells me not to really bother with the numbers. It's counterintuitive.

Quoting the tutorial:
"Look, you're going to make a big fuss about these when you really shouldn't.
Sometimes a planet is going to have a really bad score in one of these categories, and people are going to catch diseases and whatever, and that's just… well, that's too bad.

These effect [should probably be affect] the likelihood of certain kinds of (bad or good) events at each location [which location?] That's it. Most events are survivable by a healthy populace, so don't get scared by a negative number."

This is downright defensive writing. I have no idea how to interpret this other than the game telling me not to really bother with the planetary economy.