Author Topic: Exodus Of The Machine Teaser 1  (Read 112005 times)

Offline Vyndicu

Re: Exodus Of The Machine Teaser 1
« Reply #120 on: March 29, 2013, 04:34:18 pm »
Hmm I can do better I think. Video to show the behavior in action and a save game. The reason why I am using a video to show it because the execution can be pretty tricky to pull of but it can be done. I have something to do this afternoon, I am a video game programmer too on Unity, so I might do it tomorrow.

Offline x4000

• Chris McElligott Park, Arcen Founder and Lead Dev
  • Arcen Staff
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
« Reply #121 on: March 29, 2013, 04:36:24 pm »
Our main fear with this game is that it will be perceived as a certain genre that it is not, that is negatively received.  In the same way that Tidalis is perceived as a match 3 game.  To have that perception is going to be the kiss of death, so very quickly we have to establish broadly what kind of game this really is.  And that's why I feel so strongly that the original OT reference should be first. 

To me the setting and so forth are irrelevant to explain, to be honest, as that will be conveyed via the visuals simultaneous with the rest of what is going on.  It's clearly sci-fi on a planet, etc.  And even the visual of the crashed ship is pretty clear in a non-subtle way.

But I do agree with you very much on getting the hook(s) in there as soon as possible.  Normally I would even go so far as to definitely put that first, but in this case we want to quickly establish broad genre because the risk of mistaken identity is reasonably high.
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games?  Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

Offline Panopticon

« Reply #122 on: March 29, 2013, 04:42:13 pm »
The most important thing for this game is the ability to name the people in your party. That way you can show all your buddies what kind of gruesome fates they met with screenshots.