Author Topic: Defending against mixed enemy starship groups  (Read 3345 times)

Offline winkrometer

Defending against mixed enemy starship groups
« on: February 25, 2014, 01:43:14 am »
So, total newb to the game, near the end of my first game (difficulty 5, 80 planets, all ship types on, both AIs vanilla).

The situation:
I'm starting to stage an attack on my first home world, when I see my planets-being-attacked go from 0 to 1, but with only about a dozen ships.  I pause and take a look (like I always do) to see what's going on.  I find it's getting attacked by 3 starships - Plasma Siege Mark III, Leech Mark III, and Beam Starship, and a few minor ships which were immediately caught in tractors and aren't relevant to my question.  I'm at 15 planets and AI Progress is at only 118 [1].

My response:
I send my entire staged combat fleet with >1000 ships, including 5 or so starships of my own, on its 6 assault transports, to the planet, which is only 2 hops from where I'm staging.  It's completely a mix of ship types - almost every type of fleet ship I can build up to this point (all ARS's in galaxy captured) - 9 types of mark I, 4 mark II, 2 mark III, 2 mark IV, with the mark III and mark IV ships maxed out.  The command station is nearly as far from the wormhole they come in by as it could get on any planet (nearly opposite sides of the green circle).  I get my 6 assault transports on top of them when they're about halfway to my command station (i.e. close to the middle of the green circle), and drop my entire fleet on them.

The result:
I manage to kill ONE of them before I lose the forcefield, the command station, the Ion Cannon, and the core fab on the planet.  The other two die without escaping, but it's obviously too late for me to save the two irreplaceable structures.