Arcen Games

Games => The Last Federation => TLF Alpha players discussion => Topic started by: Volkira on April 15, 2014, 11:56:17 AM

Title: 2560 x1440 resolution preformance
Post by: Volkira on April 15, 2014, 11:56:17 AM
At first thought I was like OH No! no native resolution for my 2560 x 1440 monitor.

But by ticking the window size and inputting my resolution preference I got a windowed 2560 x1440 screen.But with a simple ALT + Enter it maximized to my native screen size.

The game looked really good at this resolution and ran great.Even though a message said the game was only optimized at this point for  1920 x 1200(I think it was that resolution).

I started the game up twice.Both times I had sessions of nearly two hours.

It ran great until a race would create a Science lab.If I went and visited the science lab and clicked on the text options an error box would show up on the upper right hand side of the screen and state a fatal error had occurred and I would need to restart the game.

Also I imagine at a later date 2560 x1440 resolution and above will be in the standard graphic options screen. As having to do the above set up each time would be inconvienant.

I was using an
 i7 2600k
GTX590  using the 337.5 beta drivers.
8 gig ram
Windows 7 64bit ultimate

Edit: I tried changing in the Runtime Data folder the Setting Dat file the screen width and height.It starts up with those settings but then reverts back to 1920 x 1200.So each time I have to manually input my screen dimensions and then press Alt + enter to maximize the screen.
Title: Re: 2560 x1440 resolution preformance
Post by: x4000 on April 15, 2014, 12:00:06 PM
Do you have the error handy?
Title: Re: 2560 x1440 resolution preformance
Post by: Volkira on April 15, 2014, 12:20:20 PM
Point me to the folder and i'll have it for you in a sec.

I found a unhandlederror text file and a ArcenDebug log file.Is it one of those?
Title: Re: 2560 x1440 resolution preformance
Post by: x4000 on April 15, 2014, 12:26:49 PM
Yep!  Both, if you will.
Title: Re: 2560 x1440 resolution preformance
Post by: Volkira on April 15, 2014, 12:30:33 PM
The Unhandlederror file is in previous post.here is the ArcenDebug log.
Title: Re: 2560 x1440 resolution preformance
Post by: x4000 on April 15, 2014, 12:33:52 PM
Ah, thanks!  This one actually had nothing to do with your resolution, it was just something I had missed.

* Fixed one more oversight in places where you could get an exception on the planet/outpost summary screen.
Title: Re: 2560 x1440 resolution preformance
Post by: Volkira on April 15, 2014, 12:47:01 PM
So that issue will be fixed in a future patch?In the mean time I'll just avoid visiting those platforms.
Title: Re: 2560 x1440 resolution preformance
Post by: x4000 on April 15, 2014, 12:48:25 PM
Those will rarely happen in terms of that bug.  It's fixed in the upcoming patch, though, yes: http://arcengames.com/mediawiki/index.php?title=The_Last_Federation_Alpha_Release_Notes#Alpha_Version_.902