Author Topic: Puzzle 3-3  (Read 6747 times)

Offline Honknatter

• Newbie Mark II
Puzzle 3-3
« on: February 21, 2012, 07:59:48 pm »
Hi there,

so I just started playing Tidalis again and I wanted to finish up some unsolved puzzles and levels I skipped and now I'm stuck on Puzzle 3-3. I just can't figure it out and it seriously freaks me out. What bugs me is the fact that I already solved puzzles and levels way after this one, so I guess it actually should be ... well, kinda easy. But, like i said, I just can't figure it out. I usually don't ask for solutions but can anyone please help me with this one?

Thanks in advance!

Offline Fiskbit

• Arcen Games Contractor
  • Master Member Mark III
Re: Puzzle 3-3
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2012, 02:36:05 am »
This puzzle is one of my favorites, since it has a really neat trick to it. :)

You can't start this puzzle with the yellow blocks, since that will get you nowhere right away. So, there are only two yellow blocks that can fall and send out a stream you can use to clear the other yellows, and because the top one is locked in a useless direction, that leaves just one; this needs to be the first block in the single yellow chain. Because the locked block points in a useless direction, it has to be last block in the yellow chain. There is also only one position in that column where those two blocks can interact with the other yellow blocks, so the first block needs to send out a stream at that position and the last one needs to be hit at that position. This puzzle highlights that blocks that are part of an in-progress chain don't have to remain stationary; the fact that streams take time to travel and that multiple chains can happen at once allow you to move blocks mid-chain to great effect.

I hope that helps; feel free to ask if you need more!