Arcen Games

Games => The Last Federation => Topic started by: LintMan on April 19, 2014, 12:44:11 AM

Title: No 2560x1440 resolution support?
Post by: LintMan on April 19, 2014, 12:44:11 AM
Is there any way to adjust the game's graphics settings to support 2560x1440 resolution?  The fullscreen settings max out at 1920x1200.   If I type in a higher value than that in for window size, it just changes it to 1920x1200.

AI War seems to work fine (and looks fantastic) at 2560x1440.
Title: Re: No 2560x1440 resolution support?
Post by: Penumbra on April 19, 2014, 01:50:32 AM
In windowed mode, you are correct you can't set the resolution higher than 1920x1080. However, you can click the "maximize" button at the top and it scales to whatever you have.

My desktop is 2560x1600, with the start bar on the right. I get a message saying:

"The game is not optimized for anything larger than 1920x1080 screen resolution. And they are using 2498x1578 screen resolution"

So, proceed at your own risk, but, just between you and me, it's totally worth it ;)
Title: Re: No 2560x1440 resolution support?
Post by: LintMan on April 19, 2014, 12:24:54 PM
2560x1600?  I'm jealous!  I really prefer 16:10 pver 16:9, but they're getting harder and harder to find, especially at the lower price points.

I tried it and it does work, but it's not a good solution for me: it leaves the window bar and start/task bar on the screen and that causes problems.  I use edge scrolling, and it doesn't work on the "up" side where the window bar is.   I also accidentally clicked on it once and the game window resized on me.  My mouse cursor also sometimes strayed over onto the task bar, and some spot on there was causing the desktop to occasionally "ghost" over the game.  So windowed mode isn't a great option for me.

Title: Re: No 2560x1440 resolution support?
Post by: Penumbra on April 19, 2014, 01:21:27 PM
I understand this is all just a workaround, but there are a few more things you could do.

If you right click on your task bar, and go to "Properties," you can select "Auto-hide the taskbar." This will make the maximized window overlap the task bar. To use it, press the windows key or mouse near the edge.

I find that, when using mouse scroll to go up, it matters if the mouse "hit" the top edge of the actual viewport. If you mouse speed is high, or you just move the mouse really fast, it actually skips a bunch of pixels on the way. If it jumps over the hot spot and ends up on the title bar, it won't register. If, however, you mouse a little slower (or at an angle), even with the mouse ending up on the titlebar, it will continue to scroll up.
Title: Re: No 2560x1440 resolution support?
Post by: x4000 on April 19, 2014, 01:55:55 PM
Coming next version:

* The game now allows you to select screen resolutions larger than 1920x1080.
Title: Re: No 2560x1440 resolution support?
Post by: Penumbra on April 19, 2014, 02:13:21 PM
Coming next version:

* The game now allows you to select screen resolutions larger than 1920x1080.

Woot!  :-X
Title: Re: No 2560x1440 resolution support?
Post by: LintMan on April 19, 2014, 03:36:18 PM
Sweet!  You guys rock!

And thanks for your help, Penumbra.