Author Topic: Where do I start?  (Read 5617 times)

Offline Gemzo

Where do I start?
« on: September 14, 2012, 12:54:06 am »
Now I'm sure you can guess the scope of this topic from the title, but I'll throw in more details than that.

I've been considering becoming a game developer, and I suppose in order to fulfill that I need to know where to start. I suppose picking a programming language is the first thing? I've heard lots of great things about C# in these forums so I was considering starting there. Besides that I know you have to decide whether or not you want to make the game engine from scratch or not. I'm guessing I'd like to at least attempt starting from scratch to learn the language, but I can't really say for sure.

I've had some experience meddling with code in flash, so I can probably figure out things on my own/with Google once I get going. So to put those things together... For an aspiring game developer looking to create a game engine in C#, where do you start?

Offline Oralordos

• Sr. Member Mark III
  • Suffering from Chronic Backstabbing Disorder
Re: Where do I start?
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2012, 09:50:01 am »
I personally would start without the graphics. Starting off with something like mad-lib would teach basic console coding skills along with allowing you to learn the structure of your programming language. Moving up from that to a guess the number game would get you conditionals, loops, and the basics of a gameloop. Further up to a console based Tic-Tac-Toe would probably show functions and basic AI, not to mention it's a bit more complicated.

After that start learning the basic graphical stuff. Start off with an images that moves around with the arrow keys to learn drawing and keyboard input. Then perhaps one that moves with the mouse. Maybe one that moves with a controller but that would be optional. Once you know how to get input and print 2D output make something more complicated like a Tetris clone.