Author Topic: Developing an RTS game using Unity any advice?  (Read 10565 times)

Offline Arowx

Developing an RTS game using Unity any advice?
« on: October 28, 2013, 11:52:15 am »
Hi I'm an Indie game developer using Unity but I keep trying to make games that seem to push Unity too far and quickly hit performance problems.

For example I have a simple RTS style game "Zombie Invasion of Eggland" but I would really like to improve it's performance so I can have more Units in the game and a larger play area.

Currently I use the standard Unity toolset Physics, GameObjects and default shaders. 

I also use the A*Pathfinding system from the asset store.

Arcen have managed to get Unity to work with massive space armadas, what advice could you give, are there designs/architecture that could take this from a small RTS into a larger open world game with many more Units or in this case massive hordes of zombies?

On a side note what do you think of the new Unity 2D pipeline?
« Last Edit: October 28, 2013, 03:54:36 pm by Arowx »

Offline Draco18s

• Resident Velociraptor
  • Core Member Mark V
Re: Developing an RTS game using Unity any advice?
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2013, 12:11:22 pm »
1) Use A* sparingly.  AI War gets away with a small pathing map as in-system pathing is strait-line from A to B.  The only pathfinding that needs to be done using A* is between-system, which has a cap on the number of nodes (120) which is blazingly fast.  Keith might even have dropped A* and instead used precomputed pathing (due to the fact that the walkable map is so small, so the memory overhead is negligible).

2) Lean how to optimize your rendering.  The more draw calls you have (look at the profiler) the slower it's going to run.  Every iteration of Unity has gotten better in this respect, especially when it comes to particle systems.  3 has the oldest and most intensive, 4 has the newest and fastest.  Ideally you should be using a single draw call for ALL your particles.