Author Topic: AI fleet parking on my planets  (Read 1072 times)

Offline kasnavada

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
AI fleet parking on my planets
« on: April 21, 2021, 01:34:20 PM »
Hey

Trying a fallen spire campaign at the moment and it's very unpleasant to play.
AI just... doesn't move and spawns and stays at my occupied planet. It's now reaching numbers in excess of 1000 fleet power and increasing.

Is it supposed to do that ?

« Last Edit: April 21, 2021, 01:42:23 PM by kasnavada »

Offline BadgerBadger

  • Arcen Volunteer
  • Hero Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,229
  • BadgerBadgerBadgerBadger
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2021, 11:40:58 AM »
Seems unlikely to be a good idea? You should upload a save

Offline kasnavada

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2021, 12:29:19 PM »
Here.

Thanks for looking into it !

I really am serious about the intended part though. But at diff 7 numbers seem kinda high, but it's fallen spire, so. Dunno.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2021, 12:30:57 PM by kasnavada »

Offline BadgerBadger

  • Arcen Volunteer
  • Hero Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,229
  • BadgerBadgerBadgerBadger
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2021, 01:15:50 PM »
This is a bug. The AI's threat there is against the Fallen Spire, but from the Game's POV there are no fallen spire units active, only player ships (that happen to be spire themed, but they belong to the player faction).

There are a couple paths forward. The easiest is to say "If there is AI threat against a particular faction X, and there are no planets with X's forces, and X is allied to the player, this threat will drop the requirement that it be against X and just go after the player"

Would you mind making a mantis ticket with this save and both of our comments so this doesn't get lost?

Offline kasnavada

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2021, 01:47:38 PM »

Offline BadgerBadger

  • Arcen Volunteer
  • Hero Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,229
  • BadgerBadgerBadgerBadger
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2021, 05:17:09 PM »
Good news: I fixed the bug, allowing all those AI forces to come after you.
Bad news: You are about to get crushed

Offline kasnavada

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2021, 05:37:44 PM »
 ;D

Yeaaah the behaviour was on 3 different planets, one with 400 and both other with around 1000, both of which are at about the same distance from my homeworld.

I figure that once the fix is in they're going to merge...

Thanks for the prompt fix !
« Last Edit: April 22, 2021, 05:39:47 PM by kasnavada »

Offline Pat

  • Newbie Mark II
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2021, 07:03:02 PM »
We are waiting for your After Action Report :P
If you have some interesting fleetships, maybe you could attrition the AI threat, or draw a small part away

Offline kasnavada

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2021, 01:55:27 AM »
 ::)

Ahah well. It went as expected.

My remaining planets around my homeworld make a T shape, they merged on the top right part of the T, then moved to the middle top part, then to the left top part...

After that they waited for some of the stragglers in the hunter fleet to join the fun, and I was outnumbered 2 or 3 to 1. They just ran through me.

It's not a problem really, I'll just restart a new game.

Offline kasnavada

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2021, 08:08:50 AM »
Ok, so... just so I get a bit a feedback here.

It's MUCH MUCH funnier now that they don't park there.

I have somewhat of a new learning curve/wall to register given how hard fallen spire is compared to, for example, macrophage or nano... but... a lot of the complexity comes with the fact that low API style doesn't really work with fallen spire.


Now, I have a couple of suggestions / remarks...
- default game name could be the name of the planet you're starting on if you don't choose a name manually.


"late? game" it's next to impossible to actually move a relic from a planet to the next, the AI will eventually spawn an artillery golem that will OS the relic. I'm supposed to clean all warp gates on the path of the relic to where I want to place it or did I miss something else ? I think the game should make a bit clearer how to escort the relic reliably.

Trains suiciding into my defenses causing an insta exo-wave with 3k or more power, at spire fallen 5, AI diff 7, and city level 4 ? Train dying to dyson sphere and triggering exo ? Not to mention trains moving into battlegrounds and instantly dying ? Are they supposed to do that ?

I'm fine with either leaving the train response as it is or nerfing it, don't care, but... I would suggest that either trains aren't attacked by default... and / or some warning if for some reason it's on the very planet I'm on. I don't really want to change the gameplay here, but a bit more of warning could be cool at least.


Anyhow, I did make it to 30 seconds before dying in 5-6 hours of play instead of getting stuck and blocked at 12-15, so... I'm improving, so there's that.


About the dyson sphere, sigh. I seem to have noticed Chris asking for "if hacking it 3 times didn't break the sphere". Well. it doesn't break ! Good news ! But that goes with a bad news: it doesn't break after 20 attempts either ! Or more ! After each hack, the sphere can't be hacked during the whole "antagonized" part, which enables the AI to retake the planet (as it stops defending itself) and once the dyson sphere "resets", hacking attempt quantity against it also resets, and you can hack an infinite amount of ship lines. Also, raising the Dyson sphere level does work (and level is kept), but costs don't raise (no idea if it should however, 20 hacking is pretty steep given the minor effect this boost has).

I'm not sure what is intended here, but I'm pretty sure that's not it. Although having 20 dyson ship lines is really fun.


Oh yeah and we get a nice "A wyrm has spawned message", I could be cool if we got "We destroyed a wyrm" message too.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2021, 11:35:02 AM by kasnavada »

Offline kasnavada

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2021, 01:39:49 AM »
Ummmm. Yes. I'm not sure about if moving relics is a good idea, but as it is it doesn't seem so.

In my latest game I beat up a train, move the relic via 5 planets, and that generates 7k of threat, bringing total to around 9k.
Here are the saves.

I was at 2.17k threat (most of them were in the galaxy, wherever that is, I'd like to know how to reduce that BTW).
After moving the relic from warwick to Carna I was around 9k...

Am I doing something wrong here ?
« Last Edit: April 26, 2021, 03:23:47 AM by kasnavada »

Offline kasnavada

  • Hero Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
Re: AI fleet parking on my planets
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2021, 06:16:46 PM »
And some last feedback as I finally won that game.

About the train part, I destroyed another train (well it suicided on one of my world) and it generated "only" 3k. Even when moving the relic. Not sure why the difference. But that pushed me into a winnable situation with a 9th city, so... yay !

Fallen Spire isn't fallen anymore ! And it goes to the thoat! And it targets the AI homeworld ! And since dire guards ports are not at the home world, I had to manually destroy one and attempt to destroy the other three. I would humbly suggest having the fallen spire AI target all bastion & AI homeworld instead of just the homeworld. That's not a big issue but given the lag at end game with all spire ships, it's a bit annoying.

Last, there is apparently no achievement for winning with fallen spire enabled ?
Again, not a big issue, but, is there a reason for that ?

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk