Author Topic: Modding command station turrets  (Read 285 times)

Offline tadrinth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Modding command station turrets
« on: September 18, 2020, 01:12:36 AM »
So, I've been frustrated for a while that the game pushes you toward the Disruptive tech every game because all your command stations start with Pike turrets.  Then I realized I was being silly, because I can mod the command stations to have whatever turrets I want.

Well, except I can't get it working. 

It looks like rather than each command station having a fleet definition, instead, the turret definitions include an association to the command station fleets.  However, if I attempt to modify those records, I get a cascade of errors across all of the turrets which copy from the turrets I'm trying to modify.  I played around with setting is_partial_record="true" on various elements (after paring it down to JUST modifying the pike turrets on the home command station), but I couldn't get it to work. 
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<root>
   <entity name="PikeTurret" is_partial_record="true">
    <fleet_membership name="PlayerHomeCommand" ship_cap_group="Turret" weight="100" min="12" max="12" is_partial_record="true"/>
  </entity>
</root>

I was able to add turrets to the command station by copying the turret to a new entity and adding the fleet membership there, but that won't let me reduce the existing turrets.

See attachment for the mod.

Offline tadrinth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: Modding command station turrets
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2020, 01:53:17 AM »
Was able to get this working by copying the full entity data into the mod.  Posting it in case anyone wants to play around with it.

Offline tadrinth

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
Re: Modding command station turrets
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2020, 12:39:48 PM »

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk