Author Topic: Show me the Showstoppers  (Read 13436 times)

Offline zebramatt

  • Master Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,574
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #75 on: October 19, 2010, 02:12:09 pm »
The intended behaviour, as I understand it is that yes, holding both shift and the left mouse button will stream turrets out from your cursor; but when you stop holding the left mouse button the stream should also stop, obviously.

What the Unity build is doing at the moment is placing the turrets with just the shift key held, which is nutso!

I can't attest to whether SlimDX did that either, though I've no reason to doubt Keith!

Offline Mánagarmr

  • Core Member Mark V
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,272
  • if (isInRange(target)) { kill(target); }
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #76 on: October 19, 2010, 02:17:10 pm »
CTRL places groups of five. Shift simply keeps build mode up to place more turrets instead of cancelling build after placement.
Click here to get started with Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports.

Thank you for contributing to making the game better!

Offline keith.lamothe

  • Arcen Games Staff
  • Arcen Staff
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 19,505
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #77 on: October 19, 2010, 02:30:49 pm »
Oh, it's doing it just by holding shift?  I think that's the one I fixed earlier.  I'll check that right quick.
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games? Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

Offline keith.lamothe

  • Arcen Games Staff
  • Arcen Staff
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 19,505
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #78 on: October 19, 2010, 02:34:57 pm »
Ok, in my tests it won't do it on just shift.  Anyone else seeing that in 3.718?
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games? Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

Offline keith.lamothe

  • Arcen Games Staff
  • Arcen Staff
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 19,505
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #79 on: October 19, 2010, 02:51:10 pm »
What the Unity build is doing at the moment is placing the turrets with just the shift key held, which is nutso!
Ah, ok, I found it; you have to left click to start the deluge, but after that you can let go of the left mouse button and it will keep throwing the units out there.  Will fix :)
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games? Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

Offline keith.lamothe

  • Arcen Games Staff
  • Arcen Staff
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 19,505
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #80 on: October 19, 2010, 02:58:23 pm »
Ok, the problem was being caused by an InsufficientlyFloggedProgrammerException, basically I thought it would be a bright idea to suppress MouseUp and MouseMove (not just MouseDown) when the cursor was inside a GUI window.  Chris told me (twice) that this was a bad idea for various reasons and I assumed he have reverted it out (which he had the first time).  Now that I've pulled that out, things seem to be working much better :)
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games? Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

Offline Mánagarmr

  • Core Member Mark V
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,272
  • if (isInRange(target)) { kill(target); }
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #81 on: October 19, 2010, 03:08:04 pm »
Ok, the problem was being caused by an InsufficientlyFloggedProgrammerException, basically I thought it would be a bright idea to suppress MouseUp and MouseMove (not just MouseDown) when the cursor was inside a GUI window.  Chris told me (twice) that this was a bad idea for various reasons and I assumed he have reverted it out (which he had the first time).  Now that I've pulled that out, things seem to be working much better :)
Good thing you managed to nail it! It was really annoying :D
Click here to get started with Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports.

Thank you for contributing to making the game better!

Offline RCIX

  • Core Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,808
  • Avatar credit goes to Spookypatrol on League forum
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #82 on: October 19, 2010, 11:52:17 pm »
Issue 741 seems pretty big to me...
Avid League player and apparently back from the dead!

If we weren't going for your money, you wouldn't have gotten as much value for it!

Oh, wait... *causation loop detonates*

Offline Giegue

  • Sr. Member Mark II
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #83 on: October 20, 2010, 12:21:54 am »
thats never happened to me. although when I zoom in on something, it takes awhile for the graphic to load. so it will just show a description for an empty space.

Offline x4000

  • Chris McElligott Park, Arcen Founder and Lead Dev
  • Arcen Staff
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 31,651
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #84 on: October 20, 2010, 02:36:16 am »
Issue 741 seems pretty big to me...

I'm pretty sure that's just planets where you have any ships under attack blinking too slowly.  It's on my list to fix shortly.

thats never happened to me. although when I zoom in on something, it takes awhile for the graphic to load. so it will just show a description for an empty space.

That's the expected behavior -- the SlimDX version halted until the graphic would load, which led to heavy lag and pausing when new images were encountered.  But the Unity version streams them in the background, which leads to the blankness for a second but doesn't cause lag.  It's kind of a tradeoff, but this seemed preferable to me.  Depending on the speed of your disk, and how many images need to load all at once, it might happen faster or slower.
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games?  Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

Offline zebramatt

  • Master Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,574
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #85 on: October 20, 2010, 03:16:17 am »
Also, I've gotten used to it by now but my initial thought on seeing the text buttons on the bottom left of the Planet screen - MAP, STATS & CTRLS - was that they must be unfinished place holders, since they don't fit the button graphics on which they sit very well at all.

If that's not the case, then they almost certainly need a little tweaking before launch.

If it is the case, of course, and you intend to spruce them up a bit anyway, then you can ignore me!

Offline RCIX

  • Core Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,808
  • Avatar credit goes to Spookypatrol on League forum
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #86 on: October 20, 2010, 03:36:55 am »
Issue 741 seems pretty big to me...
I'm pretty sure that's just planets where you have any ships under attack blinking too slowly.  It's on my list to fix shortly.
But it was blinking on planets that i had only sent a scout on, well after i had scouted. Also, pretty much all of the explored planets were doing it.
Avid League player and apparently back from the dead!

If we weren't going for your money, you wouldn't have gotten as much value for it!

Oh, wait... *causation loop detonates*

Offline zebramatt

  • Master Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,574
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #87 on: October 20, 2010, 04:06:57 am »
Oh and someone mentioned the Galaxy View planetary text, right? I have a right trouble of a time seeing the numbers for My Ships (Q) - they're obscured by planet names and icons.

Offline zebramatt

  • Master Member Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,574
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #88 on: October 20, 2010, 11:34:09 am »
Also also also also (I've no idea how many alleged "showstoppers" I'm up to now):

Would I be correct in saying MRSs and engineers don't show their repair lines in far zoom?

Offline x4000

  • Chris McElligott Park, Arcen Founder and Lead Dev
  • Arcen Staff
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 31,651
Re: Show me the Showstoppers
« Reply #89 on: October 20, 2010, 11:35:38 am »
Also also also also (I've no idea how many alleged "showstoppers" I'm up to now):

Would I be correct in saying MRSs and engineers don't show their repair lines in far zoom?

When you zoom out very far, yes.  This is the intended behavior for the moment.
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games?  Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!