Arcen Games

Games => AI War Classic => AI War Classic - Technical Support => Topic started by: Kron on November 17, 2010, 08:39:07 AM

Title: How to manually update the game?
Post by: Kron on November 17, 2010, 08:39:07 AM
Is there any way I can download the beta updates manually? :(

Basically, I'm stuck on 4.021... a lot of really nice people tried to help me on the IRC but my auto-updater simply doesn't work.

I didn't think this would be a problem, but apparently everyone is on the beta and that means I can't play multiplayer. That's primarily why I bought the game. T_T
Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: Winter Born on November 17, 2010, 10:21:21 AM
from X4000

Meanwhile, if you want the raw zip files, you can get a list of them here: http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWarBetaUpdates2.xml

Simply unzipping them into your game folder in order would give the desired result if you want the betas that way. Hope that helps

Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: Kron on November 17, 2010, 11:15:22 AM
Which ones should I get? The Top three? I'm a bit confused. O_O
Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: Winter Born on November 17, 2010, 11:45:27 AM
Sorry for your trouble on this.

if you are at 4021
then unzip 4029 into your game folder (basically replacing by overwriting)
then  unzip 32 into your g f
then 36

You need to do it in order so that you end up with the correct versions of all files at the end.

Did you look at some of the other "updater not working threads" to see if there was an answer to your issue?
Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: Kron on November 17, 2010, 12:09:30 PM
Well, I tried what you told me and it didn't work. (I tried 4029 and it didn't change the version number)

But then TyberZann downloaded the steam version of the game (4.021) just to play with me! He is adorable. :D

... aaaand it turns out my connection is so bad it causes the game to play at 25% speed at the lowest profile.


So I suppose this update problem is moot; I can't play multiplayer anyway. Thanks for the help though. T_T

Also:
Quote from: TyberZannn
could you make a request on the forums for the admins to send me the forum activation code from a private email? non-standard accounts are blocked on the server so the @arcengames.com or whatever is probably what it is, Hazard did that to get me on Achron
Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: Oralordos on November 17, 2010, 12:19:24 PM
Now that's not necessary. For some reason the e-mail just got through.  ;D I don't know why now and not before though.  ???
Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: Winter Born on November 17, 2010, 12:55:14 PM
Now that's not necessary. For some reason the e-mail just got through.  ;D I don't know why now and not before though.  ???

Ok welcome to the forums.
I''l see if I can get someone more knowledgeable to give Kron a hand.

X4000 is tops.
Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: x4000 on November 17, 2010, 03:28:00 PM
For the unzipping, updating to 4.029 would indeed fail to update your version number -- I take the executables themselves out of the older patches to avoid versioning issues.  So all you would get is the non-code parts of the game (images and xml files, mostly).  

These are noncumulative patches, so you have to apply them one after the other, and at the end of that you apply the last one and it includes the code and updates you properly to the last version.  If you just skip to the last one you'll have the code, but you'll be missing various graphics that will instead then show up as pink squares (or you'll have old versions of graphics, as the case may be).


Incidentally, if your connection is really slow that might be why the automatic updates aren't working for you -- the downloads from our web host seem to fail after 2 minutes per file when downloaded through the game itself.  That's something we're working on with them, but we're on virtual "cloud sites" hosting so that may be iffy to get changed.

Hope that helps!

EDIT: And, by the way, thanks so much Winter Born for being so helpful in this thread! :)
Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: Oralordos on November 17, 2010, 05:48:37 PM
Just to ask, will these patches work with the Steam version of AI War?
Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: x4000 on November 17, 2010, 05:50:25 PM
Just to ask, will these patches work with the Steam version of AI War?

Absolutely.
Title: Re: Manual Update?
Post by: Kron on November 18, 2010, 11:12:31 AM
It works!

Thanks everyone! <3
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on November 18, 2010, 12:34:15 PM
Awesome! :)
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: SRombauts on November 18, 2010, 06:11:24 PM
I've just made a bug report about quit the the same issue I have :

"Steam version with a first update to beta version unable to detect any more updates" :
http://www.arcengames.com/mantisbt/view.php?id=1460

So I reinstalled the full game on monday (buying The Zenith Remnant in the process)
- 4.021 + extension
- then updated with three files this time to the beta 4.033
- now I am stuck with this one


The manual ZIP update worked for me and bring me to 4.037 :)
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on December 21, 2010, 12:16:18 PM
Manual Method 2 (For OSX or otherwise)
If you're having trouble unzipping the files, never fear -- there's a tool that will do that for you. 

1. First what you'll need to do is download the various updates that you'd like to apply.  Again, you can get those here: http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWarBetaUpdates2.xml

2. Normally you would just unzip those, in order, into your AI War folder.  But if that's giving you trouble (such as on OSX), then instead take the files and put them inside the RuntimeData/updates folder in your AI War installation directory.

3. Rename the files to just VersionNumber.zip.  So for instance if you download version 4.032, with a filename of AIWar4032.zip, you need to rename it to 4032.zip in the updates folder.

4. Once all the files are in place, create a new plaintext document called "updatelist.txt" in that same RuntimeData/updates folder.

5. Inside this document, put the version numbers all on one line, separated by a single space between each version.  Put these in the order that they should be applied, so ascending order.  In other words, the same order you'd put them in when unzipping them by hand.  An example document might look like this, with a single line saying: "4032 4033 4044" to apply 4.032, then 4.033, then 4.044, for instance.

6. Once both updatelist.txt and the actual zip files themselves are in place, go back to your main directory for AI War and run AIWarAutoUpdater-windows.exe or AIWarAutoUpdater-osx.app, depending on which platform you are on.  The auto-updater does NOT download anything, it simply unzips the files you have already downloaded based on the updatelist.txt file.  Normally the game itself does the downloads and creates the updatelist.txt file, but if you do it by hand the autoupdater can't tell the difference (so long as you do it right), and will save you the trouble of unzipping if that's being problematic.  For most people, unzipping by hand is faster, though.
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: TParis on March 17, 2011, 08:38:56 PM
Any way to get the manual final (non-beta) updates aswell (like 5.004)?
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on March 17, 2011, 08:40:44 PM
Actually, the name of that list is actually incorrect -- it's not just beta updates, it's all updates, period.  If it's not in that http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWarBetaUpdates2.xml, it isn't an update that anyone needs (as in, its content was rolled into the next update).  The ones with a B prefix in front of their version number are the beta ones, but the rest are all official.

Speaking of, the latest official is 5.000.  5.004 and similar are all beta...
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: TParis on March 17, 2011, 08:46:45 PM
Okay, that was some fast response... thanks for clearing that up.  :)
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on March 17, 2011, 08:52:40 PM
My pleasure!
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: unclechuck on May 11, 2011, 10:22:51 PM
This does not work for me, I have the updates in my RuntimeData folder as well as the text document. But whenever I run the autoupdater it simply flashes, I load up AIWar and I'm still stuck on 5000.
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on May 12, 2011, 09:32:59 AM
If you want to run the autoupdater to manually apply patches, then you have to put the patch and text files under RuntimeData\updates, not just under RuntimeData that's probably all it is!
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: unclechuck on May 12, 2011, 08:59:08 PM
I have no updates folder?
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on May 12, 2011, 09:10:25 PM
Yes, usually the game creates it. But if you create it, that's just the same.

Or you can unzip the files manually into the root game folder. There aren't many of them, so that's probably fastest at the moment.
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: unclechuck on May 12, 2011, 10:04:16 PM
I have the zip files and text doc in a folder labeled "updates" in the RuntimeData folder, I run the updater and it does nothing.
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on May 12, 2011, 10:18:26 PM
The simplest thing at this stage is just to unzip the update files into your game folder, in order from lowest to highest. My best guess is that your text file isn't formatted quite right or something like that.  If the updated does nothing, it's not finding the text doc, probably. Otherwise it would give you some sort of error when failing, at least.
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: unclechuck on May 12, 2011, 10:28:48 PM
For whatever reason the 5002 zip won't unzip correctly, it just creates a new RuntimeData folder
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on May 13, 2011, 08:14:36 AM
Are you on OSX or windows? On windows, you need to unzip it to the root game folder, not the runtimedata folder. It will then need to merge with the runtimedata folder, overwriting any duplicate files. On osx, the default is to completely erase that original folder, which would be bad. I've been assuming windows. If so, sounds like you're down one directory from where you should be.
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: unclechuck on May 13, 2011, 08:12:52 PM
I'm on Mac
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on May 13, 2011, 09:57:05 PM
Okay, that's good information to know.  In that case, definitely don't unzip it manually because the Mac will just overwrite everything and you'll have to reinstall from scratch.  These are the instructions that you'll need to follow, from higher up.  I'm wondering if you didn't see this specific part of the post, since you weren't familiar with the updates folder, etc.  You'll need to create the updates folder, and the updatelist.txt file inside it with the file numbers, and the appropriately-named zip files go in that same folder.  If those are all in place, it should work just fine.  I hope that helps -- if not, I really need some more details, because I'm really shooting in the dark at the moment.

Manual Method 2 (For OSX or otherwise)
If you're having trouble unzipping the files, never fear -- there's a tool that will do that for you. 

1. First what you'll need to do is download the various updates that you'd like to apply.  Again, you can get those here: http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWarBetaUpdates2.xml

2. Normally you would just unzip those, in order, into your AI War folder.  But if that's giving you trouble (such as on OSX), then instead take the files and put them inside the RuntimeData/updates folder in your AI War installation directory.

3. Rename the files to just VersionNumber.zip.  So for instance if you download version 4.032, with a filename of AIWar4032.zip, you need to rename it to 4032.zip in the updates folder.

4. Once all the files are in place, create a new plaintext document called "updatelist.txt" in that same RuntimeData/updates folder.

5. Inside this document, put the version numbers all on one line, separated by a single space between each version.  Put these in the order that they should be applied, so ascending order.  In other words, the same order you'd put them in when unzipping them by hand.  An example document might look like this, with a single line saying: "4032 4033 4044" to apply 4.032, then 4.033, then 4.044, for instance.

6. Once both updatelist.txt and the actual zip files themselves are in place, go back to your main directory for AI War and run AIWarAutoUpdater-windows.exe or AIWarAutoUpdater-osx.app, depending on which platform you are on.  The auto-updater does NOT download anything, it simply unzips the files you have already downloaded based on the updatelist.txt file.  Normally the game itself does the downloads and creates the updatelist.txt file, but if you do it by hand the autoupdater can't tell the difference (so long as you do it right), and will save you the trouble of unzipping if that's being problematic.  For most people, unzipping by hand is faster, though.
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: unclechuck on May 14, 2011, 09:41:45 PM
ok, I have all of the update zip files in the "updates" folder inside the RuntimeData folder, along with the txt document titled "updatelist.txt". When I go to run AIWarAutoUpdater-osx it flashes and does nothing.
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on May 15, 2011, 08:36:06 AM
Ohhhh... In that case, your updated program is messed up and isn't running at all. I should have asked for a description of what was really happening from the start, rather than assuming it was actually running. I bet you have a steam copy of the game? Seems like sometimes the auto updated permissions are getting incorrect on steam. I believe I posted a copy of the auto updated app file in this forum somewhere -- you might search forthat link (I'm on my iPhone at the moment so can't readily). But just replace your corrupt updated with the one I posted here, and then it should run. It sounds like you're doing everything else exactly right. Sorry for the confusion!
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on May 15, 2011, 08:39:54 AM
Actually, here is the original topic about the OSX updater issue that some folks have: http://www.arcengames.com/forums/index.php/topic,8283.msg72540.html#msg72540

Andrhe download link for the updater with its permissions not corrupted: http://www.arcengames.com/share/AIWarAutoUpdater-osx.app.zip
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: unclechuck on May 15, 2011, 09:32:04 PM
It's all working now thanks for the help!
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on May 16, 2011, 09:16:51 AM
Awesome!  Glad we got it worked out, in the end. :)
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: rherrick on July 01, 2011, 05:12:56 PM
I don't know if you're aware of it, but the same problem is still in place with the 5.011 updater. Same solution, but it's kinda unprofessional looking and should be a simple fix...
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: msb9372 on September 16, 2012, 06:28:21 PM
Hi, I am also having a problem updating my game.  I have a Mac and a Steam version of this game.  When I try to download the zip files I get the following but no files to download?

<updatelist><update>B5080|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar5080.zip</update><update>B5074|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar5074.zip</update><update>B5053|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar5053.zip</update><update>B5045|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar5045.zip</update><update>B5042|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar5042.zip</update><update>B5003|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar5003.zip</update><update>B5002|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar5002.zip</update><update>5000|http://www.mediafire.com/file/creb5rb73jci66x/AIWar5000.zip</update><update>4021|http://www.mediafire.com/file/8jyldmyru8z0j3g/AIWar4021.zip</update><update>4000|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar4000.zip</update><update>3908|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3908.zip</update><update>3907|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3907.zip</update><update>3905|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3905.zip</update><update>3903|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3903.zip</update><update>3902|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3902.zip</update><update>3900|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3900.zip</update><update>3801|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3801.zip</update><update>3800|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3800.zip</update><update>3719|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3719.zip</update><update>3718|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3718.zip</update><update>3717|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3717.zip</update><update>3716|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3716.zip</update><update>3715|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3715.zip</update><update>3714|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3714.zip</update><update>3713|http://www.arcengames.com/dl/AIWar3713.zip</update></updatelist>
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on September 16, 2012, 07:22:21 PM
At any rate, if you want a fully working version, you can use this for the time being: http://www.arcengames.com/share/AIWarAutoUpdater-osx.app.zip
Title: Update downloads are incredibly slow, mirrors please?
Post by: allison on February 03, 2015, 07:29:53 AM
Would it be possible to have the patch files mirrored on arcengames.com? Updated my installation for the first time in quite a while, got to version 7.055 without any problems, but AIWar7061.zip is downloading from aiwar.s3.amazonaws.com at close to 0 KB/s.

[Edit] It's OK now, my ISP was just being crap as usual... but it might be good to have a mirror at least
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: x4000 on February 03, 2015, 08:37:18 AM
Sorry about that!  Amazon in general should be superfast, though.  It's something we pay for the same as arcen games dot com.  One is just rackspace and the other is amazon, but they're both global cloud services.
Title: Re: How to manually update the game?
Post by: eddieballgame on August 17, 2017, 03:16:47 AM


eddieballgame

New User












 



Rep: 0



Registered: Feb 2013

From United States





Posted 2 days ago




1





I updated the GOG version, successfully. However, I needed to do one more "thing" that was not obvious.
 After updating with the 3 available patches, the game still showed version 8.001.
 My "fix" was as follows:

 For the "8.024" # to show on the main screen, do this:
 Copy & Paste ( replace ) DB/Managed/Assembly-C.Sharp.dll file into:
 AIWarGame/AIWar_Data/Managed folder

 This now allowed the game to show as version 8.024 & removed the "update prompt".