Author Topic: New player help  (Read 2380 times)

Offline fatbooboo

New player help
« on: October 31, 2013, 10:49:40 am »
Hello I just started playing a few days ago, amazing game btw.

I am having trouble trying to figure out how many turrets  I should place for defense of my planets and how many is too much or too little.
In my last game my economy seemed to just crash and I was having brownouts.

I was finally did in by a unit called a Raid Eye that caused a never ending wave of around 140 bombers in successive waves until I escaped the planet I was attacking, how do I deal with this unit when its on a planet with heavy defenses without incurring so much threat?

Offline Vyndicu

Re: New player help
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2013, 04:31:21 pm »
First off welcome to AI War.

It's depend on what kind of map you have. If you have a X map then you can put everything in one system and defend it. If the map has too many paths then you have to figure out where the most likely path of exo-wave/threat will take to your systems. Usually they will pick a target and and attack it. Or even in some rare cases multiple group will attack in different fronts. Mini-fort may help you alot since you can build them per-system unlike the other forts.

For raid eye you may have to use either cloaked fleet whose only goal is to take out guard posts (ignore wormhole guard posts). Raid Eye only active if you have twice more ships than what AI has in-system. You may want to look into using a smaller fleet or cloaker starship or any of the starships. They pack lot of punches.

As for brownouts, it only happens if you lose your power supply. So you will want to have some wuggle room when it comes to power supply so build some matter conversion but they cost resource. The other option is to take more systems to expand your power. But be careful taking too many will result in AI become even more powerful over time.