Author Topic: Kahuna's Guide To AI War - Find Your Inner Super Cat!  (Read 84298 times)

Offline Kahuna

• Core Member
  • Kahuna Matata!
Kahuna's Guide To AI War - Find Your Inner Super Cat!
« on: June 14, 2013, 04:20:28 am »

Q: "Who are you and why should I read this guide?"
A: I'm an AI War veteran and play exclusively on 10/10 difficulty level and am able to win games consistently. At the moment I've played AI War for 2433 2592 2752 hours so I know how the game works.

1. Game settings
2. Controls
3. Defenses
 3.1 Intro and starting a new game
 3.2 Proper positioning
 3.3 Tech 'n' tactics
4. Beachheading
 4.1 Offensive beachheading
 4.2 Defensive beachheading
5. Enter The Raid Engine - The Balls Of Steel Self Studying Package
6. My After Action Reports

1. Game settings
When I first started playing I had pretty much everything enabled because I didn't know what everything does. That eneded up making things too hard so eventually I disabled most of the stuff. Expansions were still enabled. The first time I won a game was vs 6 difficulty Feeding Parasite and 6 difficulty Vanilla.

I recommend you enable all expansions and use the following settings or something similar:
Two 5 or 6 difficulty AIs of your choice. Recommended AI types for beginners:
-Easy AIs: Cowardly, Fortress Baron, Mine Enthusiast, The Tank, Vanilla.
-Moderate AIs: Experimentalist, Neinzul Youngster.
-Hard/Red AIs: None.

Map
80 planets
Map type: Simple
Map seed: Whatever you want. Some maps look a bit messy but you can use the "Untangle Map/Stop Untangling" button to make the map easily readable.

Ships
Available Ships: Simple
All enabled EXCEPT: Swallowers, Fast Drones and Dire Guardian Lairs. You can enable CSGs if you want.
Good point by Hearteater: