Author Topic: Er... *Cough Cough.. Help?  (Read 2283 times)

Offline hilariouslijah

Er... *Cough Cough.. Help?
« on: May 31, 2014, 01:32:27 am »
Hey all, I'm new to AI war, and I recently started a campaign with one of the AI types as "Shield Ninny". I am already regretting my decision, as a planet that I really want (It has an Advanced Research Station, a Distribution Node, and a Showdown Device) is equipped with a fortress >:(. I have launched 3 massive waves, consisting of most of my fleet (including the Campion and a lot of starships), but I just can't kill the damn thing. :'(. I am hoping someone can enlighten me about strategies against fortresses.
P.S: It's a MK III fortress, so yeah.

Offline Lancefighter

• Core Member
Re: Er... *Cough Cough.. Help?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2014, 01:45:03 am »
bombers are basically immune to fortresses. One thing I maybe could recommend is the use of warheads - you have three choices, with varying results and AIP:

EMP warhead - Kinda nice, makes everything quiet so you can do random things. Planet-wide effect, 30s or so per

Lightning warhead - blows up small ships first, good at clearing tons of junk, not so great against fortresses

Armored warhead - super great at blowing up fortress, marginally less useful against masses of units (lower range is mostly the thing).

Either of these will really help if you absolute *must* have it. Otherwise, consider waves of suicide bombers to blow up the fortress - A fortress basically cannot destroy bombers. (or any polycrystal hull). itll be timely and kinda expensive, but eventually the fort will die.

Final option is just to ignore it. A fort's range is actually kinda small , so you can blow up what you need and take the command station and then put up your own, getting the ars and other things.
Ideas? Suggestions? Concerns? Bugs to be squashed? Report them on the Mantis Bugtracker!

Author of the Dyson Project and the Spire Gambit

Offline Arc-3N-4B

• Artificial Intelligence