Author Topic: Advanced Hives?  (Read 13636 times)

Offline TheHive

• Newbie Mark II
Advanced Hives?
« on: May 12, 2016, 07:39:22 pm »
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forums, but I've been playing AI War for a few months now. Recently, I decided to try out advanced hives (having previously beaten 7/7 with normal hives on 4/10). Because I heard they were scary, I gave one of the AIs hybrid hives and advanced hives, both 4/10, and wanted to see what happens.

Its been a bit over 10 hours of in game time, I've destroyed all but two of the hive spawners, but so far, I haven't seen an unusually strong hybrid or anything. I've read that advanced hives build stuff (defenses or more hybrid facilities), recolonize planets, and have other nasty plots. The thing is, I haven't seen them do anything normal hives don't (just accumulate on planets bordering mine until I can destroy them). At one point near the beginning, there were like 20 on one planet, which is the most I've ever seen (or let it reach before besides when I was playing on defender mode).

Still, besides being additional ships on the planet, the hives didn't do anything. Which makes me wonder, what do advanced hives do? I haven't noticed them doing anything. Is this because they don't, or is it all behind the scenes stuff?

Offline chemical_art

• Core Member Mark IV
  • Fabulous
Re: Advanced Hives?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 10:22:22 pm »
My memory is hazy, because "hives" and "hybrids" interact a lot, but I believe if left unchecked the hives will create super starships that cause a lot of headaches if not pre-emptively dealt with.

Or that might just be hybrids...sorry I can't be more specific! [Or are they the same? I need a fresh AIW expansion so I can jump back into this!]
Life is short. Have fun.

Offline TheHive

• Newbie Mark II
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2016, 06:55:49 am »
There are Hybrid Hives and Advanced Hybrid Hives (I abbreviated them to Advanced Hives because I misremembered the name).