Author Topic: A little help with the AI Reprisal mechanic please?  (Read 2706 times)

Offline Splam!

A little help with the AI Reprisal mechanic please?
« on: July 16, 2014, 11:48:13 pm »
Hello all.  I've been playing for two years now, though only on my seventh game.  I'm really slow and typically have 40+ hours into a game.  So I started my recent game after a long hiatus and I'm really struggling with this AI Reprisal mechanic.  I'm playing 7.6 with secondary types (mod/easy all) but no AI plots.

In this current game every time I move in I almost immediately incur a level 2 reprisal.  Are we just not supposed to lose ships now?  Even when I came in with just four Starship Bombers (ranks 2 and 3) a couple of losses kicked off reprisal.

Love, so love this game.  But I'm getting frustrated which is not a feeling I've had with this game before (I like "DF" level fun, so I'm not frustrated with "hard", just not understanding my counter).

Any advice? 

Offline keith.lamothe

• Arcen Games Staff
  • Arcen Staff
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
Re: A little help with the AI Reprisal mechanic please?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2014, 10:19:13 am »
Welcome to the forums :)

The reprisal "level" is basically just "how much bigger will this be than a normal wave?" with each level being twice the previous.  Reprisal 1 is about 1.5 times a normal wave, 2 is about 3 times, 3 is about 6 times, etc.

The result is that it's actually easier to provoke higher level reprisals on lower difficulties (and AIP levels) because the normal waves are so small.

So my first question is: are these reprisals actually dangerous to you?  Or can your defenses handle them easily?
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games? Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

Offline Splam!

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2014, 01:58:15 pm »