Author Topic: Don't worry, I'm a professional tester: Proving the bug remains  (Read 7493 times)

Offline RockyBst

• Full Member Mark III
Don't worry, I'm a professional tester: Proving the bug remains
« on: February 25, 2015, 06:26:08 pm »
A mildly cheesy attempt at the double godlike achievement I was so cruelly robbed of back in my 10/10/10 planet game, wherein the AI's mouth continues to write cheques that it can't cash (even after that special forces CPA 'fix').

(The CPA before that one though, when the special forces were still going strong and the Mk V ships still slumbering on the homeworlds... whoo, that was a doozy)

This one will be short-ish form (for a change), and I'm primarily doing it because I'm a fair way through and I have a good feeling about this game. I imagine that will turn out to be wildly misplaced.

The cheese:

X-Map: This is the biggie, I'm still not a massive fan of X/snake/vine or whatever else maps but let's be honest you can't survive on 10/10 without a defensible perimeter.

Spire Asteroids (Medium): Second biggest piece of cheddar, because really who can live without Martyrs.

Zenith Traders: Despite the occasional One-Shot raid engine (which can be particularly nasty on diff 10), I count this guy as cheese due to the utterly irreplaceable Zenith Power Generator.

The Rest:

Easyish AIs: Let's go for an Attritioner (really, this guy is classed as 'hard'?) backed up by a support corps. The support corps can be intensely annoying with their tachyons decloaking my mine fields, but the lack of waves is a godsend.

Broken Golems (Medium): +20AIP per golem is more than balanced of diff 10, let alone the absurd energy costs. In fact, I may well have been better off going for Hard.

Human Resistance: Always nice to have a little last minute defence boost

Dyson Sphere, Dark Spire, Cookie Monster: I can't remember the last game I played without these

Fallen Spire, Roaming Enclaves: Always nice to have a touch of extra firepower.