Author Topic: 9/9 Spire Hammer/Attritioner  (Read 4590 times)

Offline Astilious

9/9 Spire Hammer/Attritioner
« on: August 25, 2012, 05:04:11 am »
Lately I have read through a number of the AAR put up here and found them quite interesting (Wanderer's ones have helped me improve at the game quite a bit too). So I have decided to try to shake off my inexplicable aversion to posting things on forums and do an AAR myself. This is my first time playing on 9/9.

Options:
Normal+Champion.
40 planet Maze C.
AI Spire Hammer/Attritioner 9/9.
Schizophrenic waves, cross planet waves (also reveal random AI types but I did not actualy go random this time).
1/30m AIP.
Complex ships, normal caps.
All expansions.
Started on version 5.067.

0-20: Bonus ship is Neinzul Commandos. I love Neinzul ships. AI has shield bearers and zenith bombards :/. I scout out the first few worlds and find nothing of note but a Nebula wormhole on Beachhead. I clear Beachhead with the champion and commandos As I begin the lengthy process of clearing the mission (zenith pillar) my fleet takes the first few waves on beachhead without trouble. No sign of any spire ship in the wave, but I my have missed it.

20-41: Cleared nebula while killing off a couple of WH guard posts and building the Starships. Decided to unlock MKII of all the turrets and the FF on the Hero, sticking to a utility design for now. Note: I guess Zenith like poetry, though their grasp of the human variety is a tad off.

41-58: Second set of waves total just under 200 ships. I am not concerned. Rallinra has a fortress III right next to the WH, I decide to suicide pull the planet with the Neinzul and kill the fort once it's clear. Also, spire frigate turned up. Start using the shadow frigate to clear some stuff and kill off excess AI ships while I wait for the fort to fall over... wow that thing is GOOD at picking off guard posts! I finish clearing the planet, start to turn Beachhead into just that and plan my next move.