Author Topic: Hard on keyboard?  (Read 10907 times)

Offline carldong

• Full Member Mark III
Hard on keyboard?
« on: December 14, 2016, 04:31:57 am »
So, after beaten 7 floors on... Very Easy(Yeah, I am totally new to action rogues), I gave it a try on Hard. Well, it turns out(of course) that I have totally no clue on how to maneuver across a screen of blazing bullets. I do notice that, even with slow mode, a single keypress will move the mech quite some distance, and only 45 degrees. Just asking the hard core players, is it really possible to use keyboard on hard? Or am I just not fast enough?

I hope that I can turn on Hard pattern on Very easy, so I can at least see the full-powered AI.

Offline Misery

• Arcen Volunteer
  • Core Member Mark V
Re: Hard on keyboard?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2016, 05:52:41 am »
The patterns and such certainly are not designed to be handled with a keyboard.  Particularly hard mode, which is my doing, and which was entirely tested on a controller.  The game is stuffed with bullet-hell elements at it's higher levels of challenge, and that genre is one of those where a controller of some sort is pretty much considered a requirement.  For a game with those elements, keyboard controls simply don't allow for fine-tuning your movement in the way that's necessary here.  At least, not in comparison to an actual controller.

Now, the 45-degrees bit, by which I assume you mean 8-direction movement (the only type that's possible with WASD controls), the game IS tested for that.  When using the controller to test and tune these things, I use the dpad, actually, not the analog stick, when it comes to movement.  It's an old habit: Most of the games that inspire much of the design in here actually ONLY use 8-way movement... no analog.  So the game ends up tested in that way when I'm working on it.