Arcen Games

Games => Starward Rogue => Starward Rogue Mods & Modding => Topic started by: Logorouge on June 16, 2018, 10:11:26 AM

Title: Auto-pickup woes
Post by: Logorouge on June 16, 2018, 10:11:26 AM
I have two items with auto-pickup so they auto-equip a specific equipment slot. Unfortunately, if you equip one and then go to the other, the game doesn't know what to do and locks up, spiraling into an evergrowing mass of confusion.

Is there a way to counter that problem?

I'm basically looking for the opposite of "can_only_be_picked_up_if_you_have_a_system_in_slot" or a way to add a delay to the auto-pickup of those specific items.
Title: Re: Auto-pickup woes
Post by: Draco18s on June 16, 2018, 12:08:22 PM
What are the auto-pickup items?
Title: Re: Auto-pickup woes
Post by: Logorouge on June 16, 2018, 12:11:09 PM
What are the auto-pickup items?
Two consumables.
Title: Re: Auto-pickup woes
Post by: Draco18s on June 16, 2018, 09:13:19 PM
I was hoping for item names so I could look up the item def and figure out what code it invokes.
Title: Re: Auto-pickup woes
Post by: Pepisolo on June 17, 2018, 11:35:53 AM
I've had a quick look and it seems like the engine really doesn't like having slot based items be automatically picked up. It's probably best to avoid doing that. What are you trying to achieve overall?
Title: Re: Auto-pickup woes
Post by: Logorouge on June 17, 2018, 06:35:22 PM
I've had a quick look and it seems like the engine really doesn't like having slot based items be automatically picked up. It's probably best to avoid doing that. What are you trying to achieve overall?
The short story is, I'm trying to have some special consumables that you can quickly swap just by running over them. The game really didn't like that. My current workaround is to have the new item just erase the current one, but that's less than ideal.