Author Topic: Learning the Game  (Read 6972 times)

Offline apophispro

• Newbie Mark III
Learning the Game
« on: April 03, 2012, 02:27:59 pm »
I started playing AI War about a month ago. Since then I've gone through the first three in-game tutorials and some of the fourth. I read the entire wiki, and I've watched every video tutorial I can find.

The problem is I really learn best by watching or by reading about what someone does and why in a narrative form. There is no material I can find that covers any of this.

The fourth tutorial didn't really work for me. I would do much better off of being able to watch a game being played (or at least the major points sped up and summarized in how they work) and then being able to just go off on my own and do it. With the whole system of trying to read about something and do it at the same time, I didn't really feel like I was learning much. I know there will definitely be players for whom the tutorial is exactly what they need, but I just don't really learn best that way.

It's a complicated game, and I think there should be more resources to help a player to learn it than there are. Every video tutorial covers maybe the first hour of the game at most, but that's not what I'm confused about. What I really need to understand is how the game lays out in the long run. If I do this in the beginning, what happens later? Why did someone prioritize doing this instead of that?