Author Topic: 2011: An AI War Odyssey  (Read 2827 times)

Offline MuttersomeTaxicab

2011: An AI War Odyssey
« on: February 15, 2011, 10:27:19 am »
Hey all,
I've been toying with doing a long-running blog of an AI War game for a while now. With Light of the Spire hitting steam yesterday, it seems like now's a good a time as any.

The purpose of this is firstly to dispel the idea that AI War is some impenetrable beast of RTS madness.
Also, it'll be written from the perspective of someone who is relatively new to the game and isn't hip to all the numbers rolling behind the scenes. Hopefully that combination of cluelessness, humour and enthusiasm will encourage others to give it a shot. I know Rock Paper Shotgun tried a similar run, but stopped after one entry.

Admittedly, I am not an expert when it comes to AI War. I think the game is terrific and a constantly imposing challenge in my Steam list, but I feel like this will motivate me to more thoroughly explore the game's myriad features.

Anyways, any feedback would be great. I just started with a brief intro and basic broad strokes history of Arcen and combined it with an unhealthy fixation on attack bears.

http://sortofaprotestblog.wordpress.com/2011/02/15/2011-an-ai-war-odyssey-day-0/

Offline keith.lamothe

• Arcen Games Staff
  • Arcen Staff
  • Zenith Council Member Mark III
Re: 2011: An AI War Odyssey
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2011, 10:40:59 am »
Thank you very much for the support :)  I'll be following those posts.
Have ideas or bug reports for one of our games? Mantis for Suggestions and Bug Reports. Thanks for helping to make our games better!

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2011, 11:10:41 am »
Thanks, Keith!

If this goes well, I'm hoping to do something similar for A Valley Without Wind.

So far, I don't really have a posting schedule set. I'm hoping 1-2 posts a week, but we'll see how things shake out.

Offline chemical_art

• Core Member Mark IV
  • Fabulous